Five Years Late to the Party

I am astounded to discover that February 5, 2011 is the Fifth Annual World Nutella Day! I’m astounded, not that the whole world is honoring this extraordinary spread, but that I’m five years late in celebrating with them!

First, I feel I must confess my deep and abiding love for this beautiful chocolate-hazelnut treat. Originally from Italy, this delight didn’t make its way to the U.S. until 1983 (nearly half a century after its creation). But I didn’t discover it until the 90’s, when I lived in France.

It’s a standard in crepes, but it is equally common at European breakfast tables, spread on bread as Americans might do with peanut butter. After arriving home from France, I found that Nutella was still unavailable in many parts of the country, sadly including the one in which I lived. I missed it so much that when a European friend came to visit, she smuggled some in for me!

In the intervening years, many companies that distribute in the States have tried to sell a product that can compare. None do. Finally, a number of years ago, I discovered a few jars of Nutella sitting on the shelf in my local, small-town Kroger. What joy! I now can have Nutella whenever the mood strikes me.

I confess, I try not to keep it in the house. It’s the kind of thing that is just as good right out of the jar (on a spoon) as it is prepared in any other way. However, if you’re looking to celebrate World Nutella Day, you can find some great recipes HERE.

Meg

Tags: , , , ,

About MargaretAnne

Preacher, Writer, Aunt, Composter, Sew-er, Crafter, Dog-lover, World-traveler, Artist, Canner, Cook, Pray-er, Sister, Retreat-leader, Reader, Daughter.

Leave a Reply

