Weekly Wrap-up (2)

… for the week ending 6 February 2011

I am grateful for :: Advil. (I have a terrible toothache.)

On my mind today :: building raised beds so I’ll be ready to plant this spring.

I am seeing :: huge sheets of beadboard that I picked up from Lowe’s on Saturday.

I am hearing :: utter silence. (It’s lovely.)

I am thinking :: that Bruce Willis makes me laugh. This afternoon, I watched RED (a little Sunday afternoon brain-break) and remembered that I enjoy Willis more when he’s funny than when he’s die-hard. Of course, that could just be nostalgia for my childhood memories of Moonlighting … anybody remember that one?

I am hoping :: that I don’t have to travel to Effingham twice this week (for two separate meetings).

I am noticing :: that all my research into food ethics keep telling me the same things over and over again, from a bunch of different sources.

From FPC, Golconda :: the congregation was still talking about Stone Soup this week. Their enthusiasm reminds me that efforts in the service of fresh and meaningful worship are not in vain.

From my writing desk :: my “new year’s resolution” to be more intentional about my writing is yielding fruit. I’m finding the daily discipline of it a challenge, but I’m still committed.

From the home front :: I’ll be spending a couple of hours each day this week putting beadboard on the bathroom walls and painting. It should be quite a transformation and I’m very excited that within a couple of weeks, the bathroom may no longer look frightening.

I am wearing :: my black Chicos-wear. (It’s the ultimate pastor’s uniform.)

I am reading :: Food and Faith: justice, joy and daily bread. (I’m still not done yet.)

I am creating :: a Lenten study series on food ethics.

My favorite thing this week :: The Future of Food and King Corn, both of which I watched in preparation for our Lenten study on Food Ethics.

The Word :: “Let everything that breathes praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!” (Psalm 150: 6)

What’s ahead next week :: talking “ag” with Eric on Monday (for the Lenten study), a Presbytery meeting (on Thursday), FPC Game night (Wednesday), a session meeting (Sunday), and hopefully some bathroom remodeling.

Whew! Well, friends: that’s a wrap-up of my week. How has yours been?

Meg

Tags: ,

About MargaretAnne

Preacher, Writer, Aunt, Composter, Sew-er, Crafter, Dog-lover, World-traveler, Artist, Canner, Cook, Pray-er, Sister, Retreat-leader, Reader, Daughter.

Leave a Reply

