Choosing

Today, I chucked the prepared sermon and went off the cuff at the last minute.

I don’t do it often, but it is increasingly common.

Today we were challenged to by the lesson from the Hebrew scriptures to see that life and death had been laid out before us … and to choose life.

I don’t remember all of what I said/preached, but the basic gist of it was this: it seems to me that most of us look at faith through one of two lenses. We either interpret God, scripture, faith, and life through the lens of judgement or through the lens of love.

Some will say that seeing with lens of judgement is to see a sinful world as God sees it.

I say that this perspective is too much like the way of the world to be the way of God. I can find judgement and “thou shalts” and “you shoulds” at every turn. I do not fundamentally believe we are a disappointment to God.

I wholeheartedly believe that God delights in us, and that out of that delight challenges us to be true to ourselves, compassionate with others and good stewards of our gifts. But above all, delight.

Meg
Tags: ,

About MargaretAnne

Preacher, Writer, Aunt, Composter, Sew-er, Crafter, Dog-lover, World-traveler, Artist, Canner, Cook, Pray-er, Sister, Retreat-leader, Reader, Daughter.

Leave a Reply

