Spring is bursting forth

I wonder if it hurts to bloom.

We sigh and smile at the sweetness of tiny green buds on nearly bare branches and assume it’s all ease and pleasantries.

I wonder if it hurts to bloom.

As the sap begins to quicken the branches, do the trees feel the tingle of pins and needles as I do when the feeling begins to come back to a hand or foot that has been “asleep”?

What does the bursting forth of the bud of a new flower or leaf feel like? Is it easy, like soap slipping through your fingers? Or does it require something more, like the pain and labor of childbirth?

My soul has known the dormancy of winter. And I have known what it is like to feel spring returning to my heart.

If blooming is as strenuous on the trees and flowers as transformation and new growth is for me, then I really should not take it so lightly. I should pay more attention. I should raise my arms in the air and dance and sing … in order to honor their sacrifice and celebrate their toil.

Anais Nin wrote: “And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.”

Here’s to the trees and the flowers! And to all of us struggling to bloom!

Tags: , , , , ,

About MargaretAnne

Preacher, Writer, Aunt, Composter, Sew-er, Crafter, Dog-lover, World-traveler, Artist, Canner, Cook, Pray-er, Sister, Retreat-leader, Reader, Daughter.

Leave a Reply

